A review

DTSK-CoverMechanical.indd

If you haven’t met me yet, I’m the dyer at MJ Yarns. I’ve been knitting since 2008 and have been lucky enough to make my living at this since 2013. Check out my yarns at your local yarn shop or see our limited online offerings here.

I got back from TNNA a couple weeks ago. It’s always fun to see friends in the industry, meet new customers and discover the latest yarnie goodness being offered. A friend pointed out a new book by Felicia Lo of Sweet Georgia Yarns.

Of course, I had to get a copy of Dyeing to Spin and Knit. They’re available here. As a dyer myself, I don’t often find yarns that impress me but I knew Felicia’s yarns were gorgeous. I’ll even confess I have some of her fiber in my stash.

Felicia has a reputation for being meticulous in her dye process. Her attention to detail caries over in her writing. This book is, start to finish, a joyful yet analytic exploration of the dye studio.

The book begins with an insightful and easy to understand discussion of color theory. Concepts are depicted in stunning graphics and pictures of yarn that turn color theory in to visual reality.

Next, the author takes us on a tour of the actual dye studio and its inner workings. Felicia offers a level of detailed instruction that is virtually unprecedented. I’ve been doing this professionally for years and I discovered new tips and tricks that MJ Yarns will be giving a try.

In chapter 3, Felicia tackles actually using hand dyed fibers. Not only do the various methods of spinning and plying get discussed. Staple length, breed and even proximity to other colors all get addressed. Any spinner could benefit from Felicia’s discussion, not just those who dye.

Finally, we come to a section of exceptionally well done patterns. In keeping with the book, these patterns illustrate how hand dyed yarns can be used to greatest effect. The patterns use a wide variety of yarns from fingering to worsted, both mill and hand spun. The patterns in this book are perfect for anyone who loves hand dyed yarn.

As someone who dyes yarn for a living, I can offer you this book with full confidence. It has everything you need to understand dyeing yarn. Weather you are a casual home dyer or a seasoned professional, Dyeing to Spin and Knit is indispensable.

If you’d like to try some of my hand dyed yarns, check out your local yarn shop or buy online here.

 

Leave a Reply

